Mixtape Monday #3: Crystal Fighters – Dreams of Disco

For fans of: Edit Murphy | Mood: Upbeat | Style: Fun/old school/alternative dance music

One of my favourite seven piece outfits, Crystal Fighters have released a new mixtape: Dreams of Disco. As the name would imply, this is heavily disco based – lots of piano, mixed in with island vibes, and a bit of hard electro in the second half. Overall it’s decent. What makes the Spanish and British Crystal Fighters so great, is their diversity. They range from rock, to dance, to Basque folk, to pop, sometimes even mixing in a bit of metal. On this outing, they veer away from the rock, and make sure to make the effort fun. Not everyone will prescribe to this style, but those who do will enjoy the mix. Definitely some great tracks in here; could probably even work as study music.

Here’s the full setlist:

1. Fallulah – I Lay My Head (Shook Remix)

2. Crystal Fighters – Champion Sound (Mustang Remix)

3. Todd Terje – Inspector Norse

4. BeatauCue – Slow Down (The Japanese Popstars Remix)

5. Noob – Spell

6. Yacht – I Walked Alone (Jacques Renault Remix)

7. U-Tern – You Don’t Know Me

8. Gingy and Bordello – Body Acid (KiNK’s on Acid Remix)

9. Appaloosa – Patchwork (ATTAR! Dub)

10. Edit Murphy – Metro

11. Eliphino – More Than Me

12. Moon Boots – Off My Mind

13. Edit Murphy – Keni

14. Miike Snow – Paddling Out (Le Crayong Dub Rework)

15. Lutzenkirchen vs. Andrea Doria – Freak Me (Phonat Remix)

16. Ifan Dafydd – No Good

Download: mp3

Overall: 7/10

– Zayniac

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: